Our network

Twenty-Four FCPS Students Named National Achievement Scholarship Semifinalists | People

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Twenty-Four FCPS Students Named National Achievement Scholarship Semifinalists
People, Schools

From Fairfax County Public Schools:


Twenty-four students from Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS) have been named 2012 National Achievement Scholarship program semifinalists in an academic competition for Black American high school students conducted by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC).

The semifinalists are:·         Andrew Jones of Chantilly High School.·         Lina Abdelatif of Edison High School.·         Amanuel Mekonnen of Hayfield Secondary School.·         Mbenoye Diagne of Herndon High School.·         Phillip Hammond of Lake Braddock Secondary School.·         Katherine Branche of Langley High School.·         Nathaniel Getu of Lee High School·         Nana-Kwabena Abrefah of McLean High School.·         Brandon Allen of Marshall High School.·         Gabrielle Tate of Oakton High School.·         Nnamdi Enechionyia and Beakal Gezahegn of South County Secondary School.·         Austin Chustz and Ian Crutcher of South Lakes High School.·         Omer Ahmed, Rheem Brooks, Chantelle Ekanem, Adrienne Ivey, Michael Maccannan, Stephanie Pitts, Alexandria Sutton, Mickeal Taylor, and Bryan Williams of Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology.·         Brook Tamir of Woodson High School. The semifinalists will compete for more than 800 Achievement Scholarship awards, worth $2.4 million, to be awarded next spring. The awards will be supported by corporations, professional organizations, foundations, and funds from the NMSC. To be considered for a scholarship, semifinalists must advance to the finalist level by fulfilling additional requirements.
People, Schools

Reston Deals